Fringe Box



New Mayor and Deputy Mayor Elected

Published on: 5 Apr, 2012
Updated on: 11 Apr, 2012

The outgoing Mayor, Cllr Terence Patrick, embraces the new Mayor elect Cllr Jenny Jordan (right) and the new Deputy Mayor elect Cllr Pauline Searle, (left), just minutes after their election.

The question of who will be Guildford’s next Mayor, in the wake of the last minute and unfortunate withdrawal of Cllr John Garrett’s nomination, on health grounds, was solved at this evening’s council meeting. The councillors of Guildford Borough Council elected Cllr Jenny Jordan (Con, Merrow) to be the next Mayor and Cllr Pauline Searle (LibDem, Stoughton) her deputy.

It had earlier been announced, in an unexpected move, that Cllr Diana Lockyer-Nibbs, had withdrawn her nomination to be Deputy Mayor.

Both Cllr Powell and Searle have served as Mayor before. In the order paper for the council meeting it was explained, “…this does not preclude them from being elected subsequently to the office of Mayor or Deputy Mayor.

Being past Mayors will be a distinct advantage in what will undoubtedly be a busy and challenging mayoral year coinciding, as it does, with the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and events associated with the Olympic Games. Consequently, it is anticipated that both Mayor and Deputy Mayor will undertake a greater number of engagements during the year.”

Because of the anticipated extra demands on the Deputy Mayor it was also agreed that her allowance should be raised from £1,100 to £2,000 but only for the next municipal year May 2012 to May 2013. The Mayor’s allowance remains at £8,000.

Share This Post