Fringe Box



Awards Presented to Community Volunteers

Published on: 6 May, 2024
Updated on: 8 May, 2024

The Mayor’s Award for Service to the Community in Guildford have been presented to this year’s recipients.

Guildford Borough Council, that hosts the awards says in a press release, the recipients “show the incredible dedication of volunteers across our borough”.

2024 receipients with the Mayor of Guildford, and the leader of Guildford Borough Council, Julia McShane (far left).

The council adds: “Volunteering comes in many forms and the award winners reflect the diverse nature of community service. Running drop-ins for older people, volunteering as youth leaders and sports coaches, keeping villages clean and tidy, or simply being a good neighbour, are just some examples of the outstanding work being done in our communities.”

From nominations received, they were 27 awards presented individually or to organisations. Some of these are well known to various services at the council.

The Mayor of Guildford,  Masuk Miah, said: “I want to thank each of our winners for the positive difference they are making to the communities we live in. To hear their stories of volunteering in the community was truly heartwarming and inspiring.

“I hope these stories will inspire others to get more involved in their own communities.”

One of the organisations recognised at the Mayor’s award was Care for Guildford. According to the press release it has “more than 100 volunteers who provide an outstanding service in our local community. They drive Guildford-based residents to and from essential medical appointments and provide a shopping service for housebound clients”.

The chairman of Care for Guildford, Linda Smith, said: “It was a real honour for Care for Guildford to be recognised in this award and for our long-standing volunteers, Zita Delaney and Jackie Smith, to get the recognition they deserve. “Both have volunteered for over 30 years and have played a key role in evolving and managing our charity.

“The award is particularly important to us at a time when demand for our service is at an all-time high.”

Award winners celebrated at a presentation ceremony hosted by the County Club. They were treated to a light afternoon tea and a performance by the Wholenotes Community Choir.

The list of receipients are: Philip Beddoes, Daniel Bimson, Mike Blundell Jones, Sarah Brown, Susi Brown, Bridget Carter-Manning, Sue Charter, Amran Choudhury, Anne Concanen, Zita Delaney, Holly Dibdin, Christine Hetherington, John Hewitson, Sally Jenkinson, Barry Jutsum, Katherine Lester, Kat Mack, Veronica Melbourne, Jean Pankhurst, Gordon Reid, Julian Richards, Janet Robins, Jackie Smith, Care For Guildford, David Strudwick, Gavin Thomas, Phylis Wigmore, Patrick Yarnold.

Share This Post

Leave a Comment

Please see our comments policy. All comments are moderated and may take time to appear.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *