Fringe Box



Five New Guildford Aldermen Appointed

Published on: 3 Dec, 2021
Updated on: 5 Dec, 2021

The five new aldermen with The Mayor at their investiture at the Guildhall. From left to right: Tony Phillips Vas Kapsalis, Mayor Marsha Moseley, David Wright, Jenny Wicks and Keith Taylor.

Five former councillors, including two past Mayors of Guildford, have been honoured for their service to the borough by being made honorary aldermen.

The appointment was made at a ceremony at the Guildhall last night (December 2). The new honorary aldermen were presented with a robe and a chain of office, which can be worn at civic events.

Mayor of Guildford, Marsha Moseley said: “With a combined service of 120 years, the five councillors have spent much of their lives serving local people, and their efforts to make this borough the best it can be.

“Some of the former councillors continue to contribute to the community in various voluntary roles. I was delighted to see them appointed as Honorary Aldermen last night at the Guildhall.”

In a recent change of protocol, the requirement for hon aldermen and freemen to remain silent on council affairs has been removed, it remains to be seen if any of the new or existing aldermen and freemen take advantage of the change.

Tony Phillips served as councillor for 36 years. He was first elected to represent Onslow in 1983 and served until 2019.

He was Mayor of Guildford in 2002, with a theme of body, mind and spirit depicting the Hospital, University and Cathedral. Tony also served as chairman of five committees including the Planning Committee and Corporate Improvement Scrutiny Committee

Keith Taylor was also elected in 1983 and represented Send for 32 years until 2015.

Keith was the Mayor of Guildford in 2004. He also served as chairman of the Planning Committee and was lead councillor for Community Safety for a year.

Jenny Wicks represented Clandon and Horsley for 24 years, from 1995 until 2019. 

Jenny served as lead councillor for Environment and Planning Policy for nine years, as well as one year as chairman of Policy Panel (Environment and Transport), and chairman of the Borough, Economy & Infrastructure EAB for three years.

David Wright was first elected in 2003, representing Tillingbourne for 16 years until 2019. He served as deputy leader of the council, lead councillor for Finance and Resources and lead councillor for Community Safety. He also served as chairman of the Licensing Committee for two years.

Vas Kapsalis served as councillor for Shalford 12 years after being elected in 1999. He was lead councillor for Communications and Human Resources for eight of those years

The title of honorary alderman is awarded to councillors who have made a long and outstanding service to residents of the borough. The last appointments were made six years ago, in 2015.

To be eligible, individuals must not currently be serving as a councillor, must have served for a total of eight years as a councillor and have given eminent service during this time. This includes serving as mayor, leader of the council, lead councillor or as chairman of a committee.

Share This Post

Leave a Comment

Please see our comments policy. All comments are moderated and may take time to appear.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *