Fringe Box



We Are Saying Goodbye to Them All… Councillors Stepping Down

Published on: 7 May, 2015
Updated on: 12 May, 2015
GBC Council Chamber Millmead

GBC Council Chamber Millmead

There are bound to be many fresh faces at Millmead when the next council forms, regardless of the Guildford Borough Council election results.

This is because eighteen councillors are stepping down tonight (May 7th) – for a variety of reasons.

Two surprising departures are Zoe Franklin (Lib Dem, Stoke) and Sarah Creedy (Con, Holy Trinity).

One of the younger upcoming councillors, Zoe Franklin went public with her reasons writing an opinion piece for The Guildford Dragon NEWS: “Why I Can’t Continue To Be A Councillor”.

Sarah Creedy was also widely respected and is likely to be missed from her role as lead councillor for housing on the Executive. She leaves to give more time to her business and family interests.

Jayne Hewlett (Con, Ash Wharf) and Nick Sutcliffe (Con, Ash South & Tongham) are believed to be stepping down for similar reasons. Nick stepped down from the Executive over a year ago.

A number of older councillors, all Conservatives, Terence Patrick (Send), Diana Lockyer-Nibbs (Normandy) and Jennifer Powell (Clandon & Horsley) and Keith Taylor (Send) are stepping down as they feel, it is understood, that it is time for them to retire from the role after years of service.

Cllrs Anne Meredith is moving away from Guildford and Mark Chapman (Lib Dem, Westborough) is moving away from Westborough. Steve Freeman (Lib Dem, Onslow) moved away and resigned a few months ago.

Two councillors are known to have failed to secure reselection in the wards that they served. Both are Conservatives: Monika Juneja (Burpham) and Phillip Hooper (Holy Trinity).

Cllr Juneja is facing criminal charges which is the apparent reason that she failed to be selected to stand again. The reason for Phillip Hooper’s rejection is that other candidates were preferred by the Holy Trinity selection committee but his consolation prize is the candidature in Onslow, a less certain seat; last time it returned two Lib Dems and only one Conservative.

Another councillor that is moving to stand in Onslow is David Goodwin (Lib Dem) who previously represented Friary & St Nicolas ward. His wife Angela Goodwin has replaced him there.

Sitting councillors technically remain in post until four days after elections to facilitate the handover of power.

The full list of those standing down is:

Councillor Melanie Bright – Holy Trinity, Conservative
Councillor David Carpenter – Merrow, Conservative
Councillor Mark Chapman – Westborough, Liberal Democrats
Councillor Sarah Creedy – Holy Trinity, Conservative
Councillor Zöe Franklin – Stoke, Liberal Democrats
Councillor Steve Freeman – Onslow Lib Dems (already resigned)
Councillor Andrew French – Clandon & Horsley, Conservative
Councillor Jayne Hewlett – Ash Wharf, Conservative
Councillor Christian Gilliam – Westborough, Labour
Councillor Monika Juneja – Burpham, Conservative
Councillor Diana Lockyer-Nibbs – Normandy, Conservative
Councillor Anne Meredith – Friary & St Nicolas, Liberal Democrats
Councillor James Palmer – Shalford, Conservative
Councillor Terence Patrick – Send, Conservative
Councillor Jennifer Powell – Clandon & Horsley, Conservative
Councillor Nick Sutcliffe – Ash South & Tongham, Conservative
Councillor Keith Taylor – Send, Conservative
Councillor Neil Ward – Shalford, Conservative

Councillor David Goodwin – Friary & St Nicolas, Liberal Democrats
Councillor Philip Hooper – Holy Trinity, Conservative

Share This Post

Leave a Comment

Please see our comments policy. All comments are moderated and may take time to appear.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *