Fringe Box



New Freeman And Alderman Appointments For Former Borough Councillors

Published on: 6 Nov, 2015
Updated on: 10 Nov, 2015

Guildford has a new freeman of the borough and three new aldermen, all former councillors.

Pictured fromn left: Nick Sutcliffe; Sarah Creedy; Jen Powell; the Mayor of Guildford, Nikki Nelson-Smith; and Terence Patrick.

Pictured from left: Nick Sutcliffe; Sarah Creedy; Jen Powell; the Mayor of Guildford, Nikki Nelson-Smith; and Terence Patrick.

Jen Powell was made honorary freeman, while the title of honorary alderman was given to Sarah Creedy, Terence Patrick and Nick Sutcliffe. The new appointments were made at a council meeting at the Guildhall on Tuesday evening (November 3).

The Mayor of Guildford, Nikki Nelson-Smith, said: “The title of honorary freeman is the highest honour a council can give and reflects the long and distinguished service Jen Powell has given to the council and the borough over 28 years.

“The three new honorary aldermen have given a combined 40 years of eminent service to the council. We thank them all for their excellent work and dedication, and these titles highlight their achievements.”

Jen Powell was first elected to the council in 1987 for Clandon and Horsley ward, and served on most of the main council committees. She was mayor in 2001-02 and a lead councillor on the Executive for 13 years.

She also represented the council on many groups and organisations including Age Concern, Guildford Access Group, Guildford Road Safety Advisory Council, Guildford Local Committee, South East Arts, South East England Tourist Board, Surrey Historic Buildings Trust, the Yvonne Arnaud Theatre and many more.

Elected in 2003, former councillor Sarah Creedy represented Holy Trinity ward. She was a member of many council committees and a lead councillor for five years. Guildford CAB, the Royal Grammar School, Guildford Poyle charities and Abbot’s Hospital were among the numerous organisations at which she represented the council.

Mayor in 2011-12, Terence Patrick was also elected in 2003 for Send ward. He served as a lead councillor on the Executive for seven years and on many council committees.

During his time at the council, Terence also served on a number of organisations’ boards and committees including the Royal Surrey County Hospital, Guildford Local Committee and the Yvonne Arnaud Theatre.

Former councillor Nick Sutcliffe represented the former Ash ward and Ash South and Tongham ward since 1999. Nick was a lead councillor for three years and served on many council committees. He also represented the council on the West Surrey and North East Hants Community Health Council.

Since the reorganisation of local government in 1974 and the creation of Guildford Borough Council, the office of honarary freeman has also been bestowed upon:

Lord Nugent of Guildford (June 12, 1985).

Doreen Bellerby MBE (March 25, 1995).

Bill Bellerby MBE (March 25, 1995).

David Watts (October 1, 2003).

Andrew Hodges (November 22, 2011).

In addition, in 1988, the council bestowed the freedom the borough on the former Women’s Royal Army Corps.

Before 1974 others made freeman or given freedom of the borough of Guildford included:

Thomas Wilde Powell (1897, the first freeman of Guildford).

William Harvey (c.1934).

Lord Baden Powell.

Lawrence Powell.

The Queen’s Regiment (1945).

Traditionally, the privileges that come with being made a freeman is that they are granted permission to drive sheep over the Town Bridge!


Share This Post

Responses to New Freeman And Alderman Appointments For Former Borough Councillors

  1. Shirley West BEM Reply

    November 6, 2015 at 5:43 pm

    Congratulations to Jen Powell on receiving her honorary freeman and Terence Patrick honorary alderman for all their input into Guildford and for always supporting my charity, the British Heart Foundation.

Leave a Comment

Please see our comments policy. All comments are moderated and may take time to appear.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *