Fringe Box

Socialize

Twitter

Press Release: Folk Singer Kate Rusby Comes To G Live

Published on: 1 Mar, 2016
Updated on: 19 Feb, 2016

Folk singer Kate Rusby is returning to Guildford’s G Live with her spring tour on Friday, April 8.

Kate Rusby live.

Kate Rusby live.

Touring with her will be her hugely talented band of musicians performing songs from her back catalogue stretching over 20 years and tracks from her extremely popular 2014 album Ghost.

Of all the stars in Folk music’s wondrous firmament few shine as brightly as Yorkshire’s Kate Rusby.

A remarkable interpretive singer, Kate’s soulful vocals resonate with the wistful beauty of an earthbound angel. Inhabiting a lyric with unforced conviction – no matter how old or how modern – she has that rare ability to transport her audience, of touching them emotionally and making each tune live vividly within their experience and imagination.

Kate Rusby.

Kate Rusby.

Audiences are sure to be thoroughly entertained by Kate’s choice of much-loved classics from her back catalogue stretching over her two decades of music making together with a selection of songs from her latest album Ghost (released Summer 2014).

Kate Rusby latest album, 'Ghosts'.

Kate Rusby latest album, Ghosts.

As ever, she will be joined on stage by the cream of British folk musicians who form her band.  These virtuoso artists are sure to delight with their exceptional talents.

The band consists of Damien O’Kane – banjo and tenor guitar, Duncan Lyall – double bass, Nick Cooke – diatonic accordion and Stevie Byrnes – bouzouki.

The crossover appeal Kate enjoys is unprecedented for a folk singer and has been achieved without resort to compromise. Her wondrous singing and hugely engaging Yorkshire wit and the intuitive support of the band ensure that audiences will be treated to a truly remarkable and unforgettable concert experience.

“Everybody loves and respects Kate Rusby, not just for her lovely voice, but for the way she has moved folk forward while remaining true to tradition…”. Sunday Times.

“ …. exquisite interpretations of traditional material from the pocket sized folk singer with the heartbreakingly tremulous voice and bawdy Yorkshire wit”. Daily Telegraph.

“Folk music doesn’t get any cooler than Kate Rusby”. Q Magazine.

Tickets for the performance at G Live can be through the G Live booking office or by telephoning 01483 369 350.

Kate Rusby Spring Tour Dates are as follows:

April

6th Oxford Playhouse www.oxfordplayhouse.com 01865 305 305
7th Watford Colosseum  www.watfordcolosseum.co.uk  01923 571 102
8th Guildford, G Live  www.glive.co.uk  01483 369 350
9th London, Blackheath Halls  www.trinitylaban.ac.uk  020 8463 9758
10th Canterbury, Marlowe Theatre www.marlowetheatre.com   01227 787 787
May

14th Birmingham Town Hall  www.thsh.co.uk  0121 345 0600
15th Royal Spa Centre, Leamington Spa www.warwickdc.gov.uk   01926 334 418
26th Mansfield Palace Theatre  www.mansfield.gov.uk/palacetheatre 01623 633 133
27th Cumbria, Ireby Festival  www.irebyfestival.co.uk   01697 371 645
28th Crewe Lyceum Theatre  www.crewelyceum.co.uk    01270 368 242
29th Doncaster, Cast  www.castindoncaster.com  01302 303 959 TBC
 

Share This Post

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.