Fringe Box



Surrey Table Tennis Association News May 2024

Published on: 16 May, 2024
Updated on: 16 May, 2024

Report by Chris Andrews

The winning competitors in the National Schools Under-19 Boys Singles competition.

Krish Chotai (New Malden) came third in the National Schools Under-19 Boys Singles competition, losing out to the winner in the semi-finals.

He has been invited to play in the World School Games in Bahrain.

Francesco Bonato reached the semi-finals of the under-16 Boys event. Eunice Lam (New Malden) lost out at the quarter-final stage of the under-13 Girls event.

Wallington County Grammar School (Sutton) came second in the Boys under-19 team event and Royal Russell School (Croydon) came fourth in the Girls under-19 team event.

At the ITTF Montenegro Para Open, Max Flint (Merrow) reached the quarter-final of the men’s class 10 event but lost 3-1 to the Spaniard Marion Lopez.

The Veterans Surrey 1 side were Champions of Division 2B as they beat Berkshire 2 10-0 and Middlesex 2 6-4. 

The team consisted of Adam Laws (Godalming), Phil Snelson (Burymead), Percy Collino (Ashford) and Diane McLellan (Ashford).

Other players who played for Surrey 1 Veterans this season include Daniel Heo (Burymead), Kinga Oryl (Godalming), Simon Philipsz and Tim Waller (Burymead).

Surrey Veterans 2 drew with Sussex 2 5-5. Veterans Surrey 3 lost 9-1 and 5-2 but were without a female player.

Aaron McKibbin and Liam Pitchford take part in an episode of TV’s Great British Menu.

Aaron McKibbin starred in the BBC TV show Great British Menu along with Liam Pitchford. The duo were among the guests at a banquet in honour of Team GB and Paralympics GB.

In the Senior British League Premier Division, Shaquille Webb-Dixon (St Pauls) won two Singles matches as Fusion beat Drumchapel Glasgow 6-1.

Chris Bush.

Chris Bush (New Malden) won the Swansea Open Senior Men’s Singles event.

Surrey-based Radoslav Kamberov (New Malden) was top seed at the Hereford Open and won the Men’s Singles event.

Aaron McKibbin is in the British squad going to the ITTF Slovenia Para Open in Lasko.

The Croydon table tennis league was extremely tight at the top of Division 1 with both Sparta A and Ballards A on 102 points. 

Sparta topped the league have 11 wins whereas Ballards had 10 wins. Rory Scott of Ballards A was top of the averages on 89%.

Sparta B won Division 2 with Tomas Raeburn of Sparta C leading the averages on 100%.

Sparta D were top of Division 3 with their player Dexter Beattie on 100%.

Limpsfield B won the Division 4 title with their player Andrew McCarthy on 100% after 47 matches played.

Burymead B won the Guildford Premier League title.  Adam Laws of Godalming finished top of the averages on 96%. 

In Division 1 Godalming C were top of the league with their player Kinga Oryl on 91% top of the averages. 

College Hill C topped Division 2. Christopher Copps of Aftermath B was the highest average on 91%.

College Hill D won Division 3 with their player Samuel Wong top of the averages on 96%. 

Woking D led the table in Division 4 with their player Sumit Kumar on 100%.

The Haslemere League saw Petersfield A win all their matches on the way to winning the Division 1 title with their player Tim Hampton topping the averages on 98%. 

Haslemere C won Division 2.  Danny Coulston of Ifold & Loxwood A topped the averages on 100%. Hawkley won Division 3 and Nicholas Lees of Peterfield E led the averages on 90%.

Godstone 1 won the Reigate and Redhill League Premier Division and Rory Scott of St Philips finished on 100% in the averages.

The YMCA 2 celebrated the Division 1 title and Will Ettridge of YMCA 1 was top of the averages. 

Godstone 4 topped the charts in Division 3 with their player Paul Gough leading the averages on 94%.

In the Sutton and District League, Graham Spicers topped Division 1 and Rory Scott of Ballards Croydon A topped the averages. 

While Crusaders B fought their way to the top of Division 2 with their player Shing Him Yuen on 100% in the averages.

Teddington 1 won the Thames Valley League Division 1 for the first time in a number of years even though Graham Spicers had six teams in the Division. 

Timothy Denby of Graham Spicer 3 topped the averages on 90%. 

In Division 2 Graham Spicer 7 won the title and Holger Breinlich of Teddington 2 led the averages on 86%. 

Graham Spicer 12 won Division 3 and Peeyush Jangid of Alexandra 4 was top of the averages on 100%.

The new club of Roehampton A won Division 1 whose players were in fact the St Pauls A team of the last two seasons. 

XXIV Club A won Division 2.

Click here for the website of the Surrey County Table Tennis Association.

Share This Post

Leave a Comment

Please see our comments policy. All comments are moderated and may take time to appear.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *